WhatsApp may restore View Once feature for desktop apps
<font color="#000000" face="Roboto, serif">WhatsApp</font> feature ‘View Once’, which enables users to send photos and videos that disappear from the receivers’ WhatsApp chat
they have opened them once, was removed a year ago. But it is said to be
rolling out to some users now.
According to a
report by WABetainfo, the previous exclusion of support for sending 'View Once'
messages from desktop apps was deemed unnecessary as it limited users from
sharing disappearing photos and videos through this feature.
“In the past few
weeks, it appears that WhatsApp decided to bring back support for sending view once photos and videos to all their desktop apps!” the report said, adding that it’s rolling out to more people over the coming weeks.
reintroduces the option to send 'view once' messages, users on WhatsApp for
Windows can now find the button to designate an image as a 'view once' message
within the caption bar in the drawing editor. Additionally, support for sending
'view once' messages from WhatsApp for macOS and linked devices has been
enabled in recent weeks. It's worth noting that the capability to send 'view
once' photos and videos was recently introduced on WhatsApp Web.
The 'view once'
messages feature allows users to send photos and videos that can be viewed only
once. When a message is set to 'view once,' the media won't be saved to the
recipient's Photos or Gallery. Once a 'view once' photo or video is sent,
recipients won't have the ability to view it again.